The curriculum is all the planned activities that we organise in order to promote learning and personal growth and development. It includes not only the formal requirements of the National Curriculum, but also a range of other activities that the school organises in order to enrich the experience of the children. It also includes the ‘hidden curriculum’, or what the children learn from the way they are treated and expected to behave.

We aim to teach children how to grow into positive, responsible people, who can work and co-operate with others while developing knowledge and skills, so that they achieve their full potential.

At Ash Green, we have used the National Curriculum to develop an enquiry-based curriculum for our children, which we call our ‘Learning Challenge’ curriculum.


Here are parent leaflets listing the end-of-year expectations in Reading, Writing and Maths for each year group:

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6

For more information, you can click here to view the National Curriculum.