Reception

  1. Home
  2.  » Reception
The Teachers

Miss Bishop (Reception teacher, EYFS leader)

I am now in my ninth year of teaching, after graduating from Sheffield Hallam in 2012 with a BA Hons in Early Years Education. I have worked in childcare settings since the age of 17 and previous to teaching at Ash Green, I have taught both Y1 and EYFS in two Stoke on Trent schools. Teaching Early Years is my passion, and I am so lucky to be able to say that I absolutely love everything about my job. During my teaching career, I have been fortunate enough to develop my skills as a leader, alongside supporting others with developing subject knowledge and their own teaching abilities. I work hard to be the best teacher that I can and will always look to develop my own skills in order to provide the best knowledge, education and care for the children that I work with. I am a firm believer that the EYFS is such an important stage in any child’s educational journey and is fundamental to developing a positive attitude to school life. I believe that if we can support children by instilling a love of learning from a young age, children can reach their potential and achieve anything that they like! Teaching is an immensely rewarding career and I could not be more proud to be a part of the Ash Green Primary Academy family. My time at Ash Green has already been incredibly supportive and has developed my teaching and leadership skills immensely, I look forward to embracing my next challenge as Assistant Head Teacher and supporting all within EYFS & KS1 with achieving the best, together.

Miss Shacklady (Reception teacher,  P.E leader)

Born in Southport, I moved to Stoke-on-Trent to do a Law degree at Keele University. I then enjoyed working with families in a child protection role for three years, before re-training for my PGCE at Nottingham University in 2015. Here, I specialised in EYFS and KS1. I then undertook my first year of teaching in Year One in a school in Nottinghamshire. I joined Ash Green in 2017 where the children are exceptional, and every day is an adventure. I am particularly enthusiastic about immersive, active learning using multi-sensory approaches and the outdoors wherever possible. I think that a day without fun and laughter is a day wasted! I lead PE in school alongside Mr Wignall and Miss Gurney.

I am so very thrilled to be joining the Early Years team for September! I will work hard to facilitate a happy and smooth transition from Nursery or home to Reception. I am passionate about supporting children to have a positive self-image and to be independent, confident, happy, curious, caring and to feel valued and proud of their achievements. I promise to foster a warm and welcoming environment for children and their families.

Year Group Information

Reception Autumn 1 Newsletter 2020

Helpful links to support home learning:

Phonics Play www.phonicsplay.co.uk 

Purple Mash https://www.purplemash.com

Doorway Online https://www.doorwayonline.org.uk

ICT Games www.ictgames.com This has a very good range of Phonics, Maths and Literacy games and they are all free!

Top Marks www.topmarks.co.uk As above, many great games for children in Early Years and KS1.

Crick Web www.crickweb.co.uk Loads more great free games!

Oxford Owl www.oxfordowl.co.uk Lots of free E-Books to support reading

Tux Paint is an online painting programme that is free to download, children love it and it is great for teaching early computing skills! http://www.tuxpaint.org/