Nursery

  1. Home
  2.  » Nursery
The Teacher

Miss Critchlow (Nursery teacher,  Computing leader)

I am new to the Ash Green team this year (Jan 2020). Prior to my appointment, I undertook 4 years at the University of Derby to study BEd Primary Education with specialisms in EYFS and Science. During this time, I was able to develop my understanding of outstanding practice within the EYFS and KS1. After graduating with First Class Honours, I worked in 2 schools across Derbyshire (Yr2/3) and Cheshire East (Reception) . I now thoroughly enjoy teaching my fabulous Nursery children here at Ash Green. Every day, I am overwhelmed by their immense desire to learn and shine. In my current role, I lead the Nursery team along with leading Computing across the school.

I am very passionate about the EYFS and self development – I’m sure my colleagues will agree that this is evidenced by my ongoing commitment to the children in my care and my dedication towards the wider team. Likewise,  I have an overwhelming passion to support both student and staff wellbeing. To date, I have several Level 2 and 3 qualifications surrounding mental health and wellbeing. I am also currently undertaking Level 2 training in educational counselling. I strive to ensure our school community continues to be the larger than life and supportive family that we are.

I have an irresistible passion for Science & the natural world we live in. Each week, I look forward to undertaking Outdoor learning within our Forest School area. In regards to my own personal teaching philosophy, I believe every child deserves a chance to shine regardless of background and ability. 🌟

Outside of work, I am an avid swimmer having swam competitively for Staffordshire Moorlands from a young age. Alongside swimming, I enjoy mindfulness activities such as yoga and meditation.

Year Group Information

Nursery Autumn 1 Newsletter 2020

Helpful links to support home learning:

Phonics Play www.phonicsplay.co.uk 

Purple Mash https://www.purplemash.com

Doorway Online https://www.doorwayonline.org.uk

ICT Games www.ictgames.com This has a very good range of Phonics, Maths and Literacy games and they are all free!

Top Marks www.topmarks.co.uk As above, many great games for children in Early Years and KS1.

Crick Web www.crickweb.co.uk Loads more great free games!

Oxford Owl www.oxfordowl.co.uk Lots of free E-Books to support reading

Tux Paint is an online painting programme that is free to download, children love it and it is great for teaching early computing skills! http://www.tuxpaint.org/