Nursery

Nursery Prospectus ‘What we offer’ 

Miss Critchlow (Nursery Teacher)


I am new to the Ash Green team this year (2020). Prior to my appointment, I undertook 4 years at university to study Primary Education with specialisms in EYFS and Science.  After graduating, I worked in 2 schools across Derbyshire and Cheshire East. I am now looking forward to teaching the fabulous children at Ash Green.

I have a passion for outdoor learning and look forward to undertaking Forest School sessions with my class. In regards to my own personal teaching philosophy, I believe every child deserves a chance to shine. 🌟

Early Years Practitioners:

Foxes – Ms Evans

Rabbits – Miss Pearce

Hedgehogs – Mrs Boulton-Lear

  Squirrels – Mrs Chell

Year group information:

Nursery Timetable  2020

What we’re learning this term:

This term we are learning about growth and change in both animals and plants. Our main text will be ‘The hungry caterpillar’.

Please see the below links for further information:

Reminders:

Tuesday – Forest School

Friday – Fundacats and Mystery Readers

On Fridays at 2:30pm we like to have a Mystery Reader in our class to read to the children. If this is something you would like to do please speak to a member of the Nursery team or write a note inside your child’s diary to book in a Mystery Reader slot – the children absolutely love having mystery readers!

Helpful links to support home learning:

Phonics Play www.phonicsplay.co.uk

Purple Mash https://www.purplemash.com

Doorway Online https://www.doorwayonline.org.uk

ICT Games www.ictgames.com This has a very good range of Phonics, Maths and Literacy games and they are all free!

Top Marks www.topmarks.co.uk As above, many great games for children in Early Years and KS1.

Crick Web www.crickweb.co.uk Loads more great free games!

Oxford Owl www.oxfordowl.co.uk Lots of free E-Books to support reading

Tux Paint is an online painting programme that is free to download, children love it and it is great for teaching early computing skills! http://www.tuxpaint.org/

Helpful documents to support parents:

What to expect, when

School readiness Checklist

Listening activities (1)

Listening activities (2) 

Stoke Reads challenge

Our memories so far…

Chinese New Year:

Pancake Day:

 

Dentist Visit:

World Book Day:

 

Grandparents Afternoon:

The Caterpillar Delivery: 

Forest school 1: 

Forest school 2:

Other Information:

Children at Ash Green Nursery enjoy a balanced routine of free choice and structured activities, which are specifically designed to support their development according to the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

Watch the video below to gain insight into what a typical day is like for Nursery at Ash Green.